Spearfish Honor Guard to marshal Fourth of July Parade

SPEARFISH, S.D. — The Spearfish Honor Guard will be recognized as the Parade Marshalls for the 21st annual Spearfish Fourth of July Parade.

The Guard has around 20 members who volunteer their time around the Northern Black Hills by serving as the guard at veteran’s funeral services, conducting flag ceremonies, and hosting Veteran’s Day presentations at local schools.

Current Members of the Honor Guard include: Arnie Koski, Daniel A. Carlstrom, Tim Wetz, Larry Haglund, Skip Johnson, Kevin Klunder, Ronald Gibson, Jack French, Doug Henwood, Gary Dettman, Pete Larson, Keith Larson, Marvin Friedt, Randy Lyons, Mike Schninger, Joe Miller, and Patrick Lewellen.

Spearfish Honor Guard Picture

(photo courtesy: Spearfish Honor Guard)

Gene’s Lock Shop owners, Gene and Yvonne Ficek, started the Fourth of July Parade in 2000. Countryside Church, the Spearfish Downtown Business Association, and the Spearfish Chamber of Commerce have joined in to continue the tradition. City of Spearfish and the Spearfish Police Department also participate.

“I am currently the oldest member of the Spearfish Honor Guard at age 92,” commented Arnie Koski. “I have discharged over 3,000 rounds for ceremonies. It is my privilege to honor our Country and the men and women that served.” Arnie served in WWII and the Korean War. The Honor Guard is continually looking for Veterans to serve and join their cause.

The 21st Annual Spearfish Fourth of July Parade will be held Sunday, July 4 at 12:00 p.m. with a B-1 Bomber Flyover shortly after the start of the parade. The parade will line up in the high school parking lot then head south on North Main Street through downtown Spearfish, disseminating at Grant Street.

Click here for more information or to register for the parade.

Categories: ConnectCenter1-Events, ConnectCenter1-Military, Local News, South Dakota News