South Dakota Highway Safety February Sobriety Checkpoints

PIERRE, S.D. – A total of 17 sobriety checkpoints are planned for 14 South Dakota counties during the month of February.

The checkpoints are designed to discourage people from drinking and then driving. Monthly checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol.

Counties, where checkpoints will be held in February, are Brown, Butte, Codington, Davison, Day, Lawrence, Lyman, Meade, Minnehaha, Pennington, Roberts, Sanborn, Stanley and Walworth.

Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are part of the Department of Public Safety.

Categories: Crime, Local News, South Dakota News, Traffic & Accidents