Sobriety checkpoints in 19 counties released

PIERRE, S.D. — The South Dakota Department of Highway Safety has released the list of sobriety checkpoints for the month of March that will occur throughout the state.

Each sobriety checkpoint is done monthly in different counties as a way to deter drivers from drinking and driving.

The checkpoints will be funded by the Department of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol along with the help of local law enforcement.

In March, there are 22 checkpoints planned in 19 counties.

The checkpoints of the counties scheduled include: Beadle, Butte, Codington, Custer, Day, Davision, Edmunds, Hamlin, Hughes, Lake, Lawrence, Lincoln, Lyman, Minnehaha, Moody, Pennington, Stanley, Yankton, and Walworth.


Categories: Local News, South Dakota News