Sobriety checkpoints announced for September

PIERRE, S.D. – South Dakota’s Department of Public Safety has released the list of sobriety checkpoints to be done during September.

Officials plan to hold 21 total checkpoints in 16 counties. The checkpoints, held monthly in different counties, are designed to discourage people from drinking and then driving.  

September checkpoints are planned for the counties of: Brookings, Butte, Charles Mix, Codington, Day, Fall River, Hughes, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lawrence, Lincoln, Minnehaha, Pennington, Stanley, Walworth, and Yankton.

The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement. Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are part of the Department of Public Safety.

Categories: Local News, South Dakota News