Sobriety checkpoints announced for May

PIERRE, S.D. – The South Dakota Department of Public Safety is planning to set up sobriety checkpoints in 19 counties during the month of May.

Photo Courtesy of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety

Last month a sobriety checkpoint set up on I-190 in Rapid City led to several arrests. Over the course of two hours, 103 vehicles came through the checkpoint. Two people were arrested for DUI charges and three drug-related arrests were made.

The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

May checkpoints are scheduled for following counties: Brown, Brookings, Butte, Codington, Clay, Davison, Hamlin, Hughes, Jerauld, Lake, Lincoln, Lyman, Meade, Minnehaha, Pennington, Roberts, Stanley, Walworth and Yankton.

Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are part of the Department of Public Safety.


Categories: Local News, South Dakota News