SDDOT rolls out winners of Name the Snowplow Contest

PIERRE, S.D. — The South Dakota Department of Transportation has rolled out the winning names in South Dakota’s first ever Name the Snowplow Contest.

During the 2020-2021 winter season, the SDDOT will be officially naming 12 snowplows, each one representing a different area of the state. South Dakotans submitted their ideas for a names on the SDDOT website in January. SDDOT staff voted on all entries when contest closed.

Sddot Plow

Photo courtesy SDDOT Twitter

The winning names and their locations are listed below:

Aberdeen  – Darth Blader

Belle Fourche  – Art

Custer –  Mt. Plowmore

Huron  – Snow Mater

Mitchell –  Blizzard Wizard

Mobridge  – Winter Warrior

Pierre – Lewis & Clark

Rapid City – Polar Patroller

Sioux Falls – SnowBeGone Kenobi

Watertown – Thaw Enforcement

Winner – Walter the Salter

Yankton – Frosty the Snowplow

Categories: Local News, South Dakota News