SD DOH: 806 new COVID-19 cases, eight deaths statewide

PIERRE, S.D. — On Saturday, the South Dakota Department of Health reported 806 new confirmed COVID-19 cases in the state, bringing the total number of cases to 32,611.

Eight South Dakota residents have died from coronavirus-related complications, all East River: three in Lincoln County, two in Minnehaha County, and one each in Day, Douglas, and Kingsbury Counties. This is the first coronavirus-related death in both Day County and Kingsbury County. The state’s death toll now stands at 315.

36 of Saturday’s 806 total cases are considered as probable cases.

132 cases were reported in West River: 36 in Pennington County, 26 in Oglala Lakota County, 11 each in Lawrence and Todd Counties, seven in Meade County, six in Custer County, five in Fall River County, four each in Butte, Corson, and Tripp Counties, three each in Haakon and Stanley Counties, two each in Bennett, Dewey, Gregory, and Jones Counties, and one each in Harding, Lyman, Mellette, and Perkins Counties. Jackson County and Ziebach County are the only West River counties to not report any new cases.

In South Dakota, 7,768 cases are considered active, that number is up from 7,312 on Friday. An additional 342 people have recovered from the virus, which puts the total number of recoveries at 24,528.

295 people are currently hospitalized, with a total of 2,077 people have ever been hospitalized.

Categories: Coronavirus, Local News, SDDOH COVID, South Dakota News