Sobriety checkpoints announced for March

PIERRE, S.D. – The South Dakota Department of Public Safety has scheduled 25 sobriety checkpoints in 19 counties statewide during the month of March.


The checkpoints are designed to discourage people from drinking and then driving. Monthly checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.


March checkpoints will be held in the counties of: Brown, Beadle, Brule, Butte, Charles Mix, Codington, Davison, Fall River, Hughes, Lake, Lincoln, Meade, Minnehaha,  Pennington, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Stanley and Union.


Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are part of the Department of Public Safety.

Categories: Local News, South Dakota News