Schaefer, BeVier named high school Athletes of the Year

The 46th Annual Rapid City Sports Hall of Fame and Recognition Banquet was held Monday evening at the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center.

It’s the one night each year that the Officials organization honors the top local athletes, while helping to preserve both the past and the future of sports in Rapid City.

Elizabeth Schaefer from Rapid City Stevens was named the Female High School Athlete of the Year.

She earned 10 letters throughout her career after excelling in volleyball, basketball and track.

Plus, Schaefer is a three-time state champion in the 300 meter hurdles.

It was a clean sweep for Rapid City Stevens, as Cody BeVier was named the Male High School Athlete of the Year.

BeVier earned 11 letters in high school by competing in football, wrestling and track.

He led the team in touchdowns and total yards offense and finished third at the state wrestling tournament with a 40-5 record.

"Definitely my parents have helped me," Elizabeth Schaefer said. "They support me in everything that I do. When I come home from hard practices and I think why do I do all of these three sports. They just help me to just be so stressed. They really taught me a really hard work ethic. Show me not to give up and they’ve been great role models."

"All the athletes that were nominated are all great athletes," Cody BeVier said. "Anyone could have been elected for this award. I’m just glad I made it because I put a lot of hard work in through my high school life. My coaches, my parents have supported me my whole life. I’m just glad I was chosen."    

Finalist for High School Athlete of the Year

Female Athletes:

Jordynn Toliver, Douglas High School

Sarra Gutknecht, RC Central

Rayna Turley, RC Christian

Elizabeth Schaefer, RC Stevens

Elizabeth Erlandson, St. Thomas More

Male Athletes:

Trevor Severson, Douglas High School

Kolby Kost, RC Central

Nicholas Babb, RC Christian

Cody BeVier, RC Stevens

Ty Trainor, St. Thomas More

College Female Athletes of the Year

Alexys Swedlund, Women’s Basketball at Washington State

Ciara Duffy, Women’s Basketball at U. of South Dakota

College Male Athletes of the Year

Aero Amo, Wrestling at Augustana University

Kyle Burdick, Track at South Dakota St.

Independent Athlete of the Year

Sadie Mae Tesch, Archery – RC Central

Professional Athlete of the Year

Shane O’Connell, PRCA Bareback Rider – RC Central

Rapid City Sports Hall of Fame Inductees:

Stan Evans, Contributor

   – Football and basketball official, baseball umpire

Donna Bader Young, Coach

   – Gymnastics coach at RC Stevens

Chas Fox, Athlete

   – RC Stevens and St. Louis Cardinals in the NFL

Darren Paulson, Contributor

   – Activities Director at RC Central

Categories: College, High School