SBA South Dakota names 2022 Small Businesses of the Year

SbaSIOUX FALLS, S.D. — On Monday, the Small Business Administration South Dakota District Office announced the recipients for Small Businesses of the Year for 2022.

Each year, the U.S. Small Business Administration celebrates National Small Business Week by recognizing the achievements of outstanding small business owners and entrepreneurs across the United States, taking place this year from May 1-7.

The list of recipients and awards include:

  • Small Business Person of the Year – Karla Santi, Chief Executive Officer/Founder, Blend Interactive, Inc., Sioux Falls
  • Small Business Exporter of the Year – Mark Luecke, Prairie AquaTech, Brookings
  • Family-Owned Small Business of the Year – The Novstrup Family, Wylie Thunder Road, Aberdeen
  • Minority-Owned Small Business of the Year – Mulugeta and Marta Endayeau, Lalibela Restaurant, Sioux Falls
  • Veteran-Owned Small Business of the Year – Thomas Catron, Dakota Solace Home Care, LLC dba Home Instead, Mitchell
  • Woman-Owned Small Business of the Year – Tara Pirak, Valley Ag Supply, Inc., Gayville
  • Young Entrepreneurs of the Year – Robert “Zane” Swan and Stephen Swan, HeSapa Enterprises LLC, Rapid City
  • Small Business Champion of the Year – Bill Zortman, Radio Host, “It’s your Business,” KELO AM 1320, Sioux Falls

“National Small Business Week is a pinnacle celebration each year, where we collectively honor and amplify South Dakota’s top business owners,” said Jaime Wood, SBA South Dakota District Director. “This year’s winners are an outstanding representation of the nearly 90,000 small businesses owners across our state. They work tirelessly to create employment opportunities, provide much needed products and services, and go the extra mile to volunteer time and talent where needed for advisory boards, community projects and events.”

The SBA South Dakota District Office is honoring all recipients in a virtual ceremony on May 3 at 1 p.m.

Categories: South Dakota News