Rocky Mountain wins Firecracker Tournament with win over Post 22

RAPID CITY, S.D. – A year ago, Post 22, along with Eden Prairie, Minnesota were declared co-champions at the Firecracker Tournament

after rain washed out the finals.

This year, Post 22 made it back to the championship game and the Hardhats were looking to win the title outright on Sunday.

However, Rocky Mountain defeated the Hardhats, 12-1 to win the Firecracker Tournament.

Post 22 fell behind early in what seemed to be the trend throughout the tournament.

The Hardhats allowed five runs in the first inning alone.

Cooper Axe went 4-for-4 and led the Lobos with 3 RBIs.

Thomas Maguire scored the only run for Post 22 on a sacrifice fly by Ryan Bachman.

Post 22 is now 18-7 on the season.

The Hardhats return to action on Tuesday, July 7th against the Post 320 Stars.


Firecracker Tournament Final Results

Rocky Mountain 12, Post 22 – 1         Championship game

Missoula 7, Gillette 4                  3rd place game

Premier West 9, Sterling 0            5th place game

Categories: High School, Sports