Rapid City Council municipal election candidates emerge after deadline

RAPID CITY, S.D. — Five candidates in each of Rapid City’s five City Council wards emerged prior to today’s 5 p.m. deadline.

Four current council members have turned in petitions for reelection, Ritchie Nordstrom (Ward Two), Chad Lewis (Ward Three), John Roberts (Ward Four) and Laura Armstrong (Ward Five).  The only council member not seeking re-election is Ward One member Becky Drury.  The only councilman that isn’t challenged is Laura Armstrong in Ward Five.

The voter registration deadline is May 18 with early voting beginning on April 17. The voting will end at 5 p.m. on June 1. Candidates that are elected on June 2 will take office at the July 6 City council meeting.

The current candidates who have filed for the June 2 municipal election by wards are:

Ward 1

Patrick Jones

Robert Overturf

Vince Vidal

Ward 2

Ritchie Nordstrom

Ramona Herrington (Dropped from the list due to a number of invalid signatures that were presented, bringing the candidate’s total number of valid signatures below the required number of 50)

Ward 3

Chad Lewis

Jerry Wright

Jason Salamun

Ward 4

John Roberts

Walt Swan, Jr.

Ward 5

Laura Armstrong

Categories: Local News, Politics & Elections