Rapid City Board of Education races set for June election

RAPID CITY, S.D. — Rapid City voters will be heading to the polls Tuesday, June 2nd to vote on the Board of Education seats in Areas 4 and 5 that are up for election.

In Area 4, four people, Leah Ann Lutheran, William Freytag, Amelia Sazue, and Jim Hansen filed notarized petitions. The incumbent, Mike Roesler, is not seeking another term.

In Area 5, two people, Clay Colombe and J. Larry Begley, filed notarized petitions. Area 5 incumbent Christine Stephenson is not seeking another term.  

Candidates had until 5 p.m. Tuesday to file petitions.

The voter registration deadline is May 18. Early voting will begin on April 17 and end at 5 p.m. June 1. Candidates elected June 2 will take office in July.  

Categories: Local News, Politics & Elections