President Trump announces executive order on monuments to American heroes

WASHINGTON — President Donald Trump issued an executive order on building and rebuilding monuments to American heroes on Friday.

The order lays out eight sections on the creation and preservation of the National Garden of American Heroes.

The National Garden of American Heroes was first announced by President Trump during his visit to Mount Rushmore on July 3.

The order outlines various aspects from who will lead the Task Force responsible for maintaining the project, potential sites where the Garden will be, and statues of American heroes to be placed in the Garden.

The President stated in the order the criteria of who would qualify to have a statue in the Garden. Statues of the Founding Fathers, those who fought for the abolition of slavery or participated in the underground railroad, heroes of the United States Armed Forces, recipients of the Congressional Medal of Honor or Presidential Medal of Freedom, scientists and inventors, entrepreneurs, civil rights leaders, missionaries and religious leaders, pioneers and explorers, police officers and firefighters killed or injured in the line of duty, labor leaders, advocates for the poor and disadvantaged, opponents of national socialism or international socialism, former Presidents of the United States and other elected officials, judges and justices, astronauts, authors, intellectuals, artists, and teachers.

Statues will include Americans from George Washington, Frederick Douglass, Susan B. Anthony, Orville and Wilbur Wright, Harriet Tubman, and Davy Crockett. However, the list is longer for statues they wish to include.

To learn more about the order, you can visit

Categories: National News