N.D. law enforcement leaders say education is key to mask mandate
BISMARCK, N.D. — Violations of North Dakota’s mask mandate carry a possible fine of up to $1,000, but many law enforcement leaders say issuing a citation for failing to wear a face covering is a last resort and that education is the priority.
Bismarck Police Chief Dave Draovitch says officers will respond to calls about violations, but won’t be looking for people or businesses that don’t comply.
Gov. Doug Burgum imposed the mandate Friday after months of refraining from such an order. He also issued an executive order limiting capacity for bars, restaurants and event venues, and suspended prep sports and extracurricular activities.
The North Dakota Department of Health reported 1,091 new cases on Tuesday, for a 14-day rolling positivity rate of 15.9%. 26 additional deaths were reported, putting the states death toll at 769.
The Dept. of Health maintains an online dashboard with current North Dakota COVID-19 statistics, updated daily here.