Monument Health honors Black Hills physicians in inaugural awards ceremony

Monument Health Award Winners

Photo courtesy of Monument Health

RAPID CITY, S.D. — Monument Health recognized seven Black Hills physicians at the inaugural Physicians and Providers Awards Banquet on Thursday, March 24.

Five award categories were created to highlight the different areas of the medical profession.

The 2022 winners are listed below:

  • John Palmer, D.O., received the Julie Raymond, M.D., Distinguished Clinician Award
  • Bruce Eaton, M.D., FACP and Jason Knudson, M.D., received the Distinguished Educator Award
  • Daniel Petereit, M.D., received the Distinguished Researcher Award
  • Heather Brewer, M.D., received the Mark Harlow Distinguished Community Leader Award
  • Forest Brady, M.D. and Harold Edward Fromm, M.D., received the Robinson-Howe Legacy Award

“Just days before our inaugural awards ceremony, the Black Hills lost an incredible physician, friend and community leader, Dr. Julie Raymond. It was important to our providers that we cherish her memory and honor her legacy by naming our distinguished clinician award after her,” said Dr. Archer.

Monument Health says the event was created to celebrate and honor the hard work and dedication that providers have shown their patients and the communities they serve, especially over the last two years.

“The providers who make a difference, every day in our communities come from many walks of life, with varied backgrounds,” Monument Health Chief Medical Officer, Brad Archer, M.D. said. “Each provider brings valuable knowledge and exemplary care to our communities, which is why we wanted all providers eligible for these awards.”

The awards were open to any medical provider in the Black Hills region who provides services at a Monument Health facility. Area providers nominated their peers and voted on the winners in each category.

To learn more about the awards criteria and nominees, click here.

Categories: Local News