Local towns holding municipal elections April 12

BLACK HILLS, S.D. — Spearfish, Sturgis and Wall will be holding municipal elections Tuesday, April 12.

For Spearfish, candidates include:

  • John Senden and James Vande Hey for Mayor
  • Larry Klarenbeek and Gabe Bell for Ward 2
  • Ana Rath Culver, Brandon Earl and Dustin Lee for Ward 3

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Spearfish Senior Center at 1306 N. 10th Street.

Early voting is available through April 11 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the City Finance Office. A photo I.D. is required.

Additional voter information can be found here.

For Sturgis, candidates include:

  • Tammy Bohn and Mark C. Carstensen for Mayor.
  • Mike Bachand and Brenda Vasknetz for Ward 1 Alderman
  • Sean Natchke, David J. Murtha and Preston Williams for Ward 3 Alderman
  • Kevin Forrester and Justin Bohn for Ward 4 Alderman

Prairie Hills Transit is offering free rides April 11 and 12 between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. in Sturgis. On April 11, the route will take voters to and from City Hall for absentee voting and the route for April 12 will go to the Sturgis Community Center.

Polls will be open at the Sturgis Community Center located at 1401 Lazelle Street from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. on Election Day. The in-person absentee voting deadline is 5 p.m. April 11, and absentee (in-person via designated messenger) voting will cease at 3 p.m. on Election Day.

For Wall, the election will be for Ward 2 Alderman and the Mayor.

Candidates include:

  • Gordy Kraut, Mary Williams and Jackie Kusser for Mayor
  • Zack Hoffman, Jason Leonard and Stan Anderson for Ward 2

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Wall Community Center located at 501 Main Street.

Categories: Local News, Politics & Elections, South Dakota News