Local municipal election winners

RAPID CITY, S.D.  — On the federal level Sen. Mike Rounds and Congressman Dusty Johnson were the stars of the night, both easily defeating their primary challengers and moving on the general election in November.

While on the municipal level it looked a little different. The contest for the ward three common council seat came down to just a handful of votes, which may still be subject to a recount.

The top vote-getter, Jason Salamun, won the seat by less than 100 votes, defeating former Alderman Jerry Wright and incumbent Chad Lewis.

“Obviously I am very happy about it and very humbled to continue serving Rapid City, what a great opportunity it is. Obviously these are challenging times. I hope to be able to come in and move us forward.” said Salamun.

Salamun previously was on council but temporarily left due to other personal commitments.

“Well I didn’t want to stop running in the first place, you know you’re balancing this with the rest of your life and so quite frankly its just a continuation of my service to our community and I am excited to get to work.” said Salamun.

John Roberts keeps his seat in ward 4 and Patrick Jones taking the ward one seat, after Becky Drury decided not to run for another term.

As for Rapid City School Board elections, Jim Hansen and Clay Colombe taking seats for areas four and five.

“So I just wanted to do my part to make the school district the best that it can. As I mentioned early, I maybe thought about city council. I just had way more passion for trying to help our school district and leave a lasting legacy there.” said Colombe.

Both say that they look forward to serving the community and pioneering change.

Categories: Local News, Politics & Elections, South Dakota News