June sobriety checkpoints announced

PIERRE, S.D. — The South Dakota Department of Public Safety has released the schedule of sobriety checkpoints that will be conducted throughout the month of June.

There will be 28 checkpoints in 24 counties, including: Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Butte, Day, Charles Mix, Clay, Codington, Custer, Davison, Day, Hamlin, Hughes, Lake, Lincoln, Meade, Minnehaha, Moody, Pennington, Roberts, Sanborn, Stanley, Walworth and Yankton.

The checkpoints are held monthly in different counties and are designed to discourage people from drinking and then driving. They’re conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

Categories: Local News, South Dakota News