Gov. Noem among 17 GOP governors calling for President Biden to withdraw ban on new oil and gas development on federal land

PIERRE, S.D. —  South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem was among 17 Republican governors who issued a joint letter calling for President Joe Biden to withdraw Executive Order 14008.

Executive Order 14008, issued on January 27, 2021, bans new oil and gas development on federal land and in offshore waters. North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum and Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon were also among the signers of the letter, which criticizes President Biden’s order as bad for America’s energy independence and national security.

The entire letter is available to read here.

Signatories to the letter include Governors Mark Gordon (WY), Kay Ivey (AL), Mike Dunleavy (AK), Doug Ducey (AZ), Asa Hutchinson (AR), Brad Little (ID), Eric Holcomb (IN), Tate Reeves (MS), Mike Parson (MO), Greg Gianforte (MT), Pete Ricketts (NE), Doug Burgum (ND), Kevin Stitt (OK), Kristi Noem (SD), Bill Lee (TN), Greg Abbott (TX), Spencer Cox (UT).


Categories: National News, North Dakota News, South Dakota News, Wyoming News