Four SD schools recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools

Screen Shot 2020 09 24 At 120737 Pm 0 1WASHINGTON — Four South Dakota schools were among the 325 schools recognized across the country as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2021.

Arlington Elementary School, Gettysburg Middle School, Pinedale Elementary School, and Sioux Falls O’Gorman High School received the honor based on overall academic performance or progress made in closing achievement gaps across student subgroups.

“This year’s cohort of honorees demonstrates what is possible when committed educators and school leaders create vibrant, welcoming, and affirming school cultures where rich teaching and learning can flourish,” said U.S. Education Secretary Miguel Cardona.

This is the 39th year for National Blue Ribbon Schools Program, which has given awards to more than 9,000 schools.

Up to 420 schools are nominated each year by the top education official in each state, the DoD Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education.

Categories: ConnectCenter1-Family, National News