Fine for drivers failing to move over increase in SD

PIERRE, S.D. (AP) — South Dakota’s new ‘move over’ driving law has gone into effect.

It increased the minimum fine for violators from $122.50 to $270.

If a driver fails to move over on the roadway and causes a crash with an emergency vehicle, the offense is now a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Another provision requires drivers to move over for vehicles that use an authorized blue light while working along a highway.

Moving over still applies for emergency vehicle with flashing amber lights, and all traffic must still stop for emergency vehicles with flashing red lights.

Categories: Local News, South Dakota News

AlertMe