DPS releases statewide sobriety checkpoints for April

PIERRE, S.D. — The South Dakota Department of Public Safety has released statewide sobriety checkpoints for the month of April.

Officials have scheduled 21 checkpoints in 16 different counties, which include:

  • Bennett
  • Brown
  • Butte
  • Charles Mix
  • Codington
  • Davison
  • Hughes
  • Jerauld
  • Lawrence
  • Lincoln
  • Meade
  • Minnehaha
  • Pennington
  • Roberts
  • Stanley
  • Walworth

The checkpoints are designed to encourage people not to drink and then drive, and drivers are reminded not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. People who have been drinking are urged to designate a sober driver or take an alternate form of commercial or public transportation.

The statewide checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

Categories: Local News, South Dakota News