DPS releases October sobriety checkpoint list

PIERRE, S.D. — The South Dakota Department of Public Safety has released the October sobriety checkpoint schedule.

DPS has scheduled 18 checkpoints in 15 counties. The counties are: Beadle, Brookings, Butte, Clay, Codington, Davison, Edmunds, Fall River, Jackson, Lawrence, Meade, Minnehaha, Moody, Pennington and Spink.

Monthly checkpoints are scheduled in different counties as a way to discourage drivers from drinking and driving.

The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

Categories: Local News, South Dakota News