County officials outline rules around fireworks as Fourth of July approaches

PENNINGTON COUNTY, S.D. – As the Fourth of July approaches, local law enforcement and public safety agencies say they’re flooded with questions about fireworks each year.

Officials outlined a few of the basic rules in a Pennington County press release.

Fireworks are prohibited within Rapid City and a one -mile radius around city limits. They are also prohibited within Hill City, Keystone and Wall city limits. Novelty fireworks like party poppers, snappers, sparklers and toy caps are the only exception to this rule.

New Underwood is allowing fireworks in city limits from June 27 to July 5 this year. Likewise, Box Elder is allowing for the discharge of fireworks in city limits from July 3-6, 2019 between the hours of 9 a.m. and 11 p.m.

In Pennington County, ordinance allows the discharge of fireworks when the grassland fire index conditions are low, moderate, or high.

No fireworks are allowed in the Black Hills Fire Protection District. This boundary is basically anything west of Highway 79 from Hot Springs to approximately I-90, Exit 61. The boundary follows I-90 east of Black Hawk and Piedmont.

Black Hills Forest Fire Protection Boundary. Photo from the S.D. Department of Environment and Natural Resources

Fireworks are not permitted to be discharged on public land or public roadways, as well as at or from a moving vehicle.

Where they are permitted, state law allows the discharge of fireworks from June 27 through July 7, 2019.

This should be done in a safe manner on the individuals own property, or with the permission of the landowner. Those participating in the discharge of fireworks are strongly encouraged to clean up all litter created.

The illegal use of fireworks is an offense punishable by a fine of up to $500, 30 days in jail, or both.

Pennington County deputies are planning to have an increased evening presence in areas within the one-mile radius of the city limits of Rapid City, including portions of Rapid Valley.

Citations may be issued after 11 p.m. or any time of day when someone is reckless or negligent with fireworks.

The Emergency Services Communication Center will host a special line dedicated to information related to fireworks, including what is legal, where, and public displays. The public may call the non-emergency line to get answers at 605-394-2151 and then select option 9.

Officials say the safest way to enjoy fireworks is to watch one of the public shows. You can see a schedule of this year’s public fireworks displays here.




Categories: Local News, South Dakota News