Common Council says hello and goodbye as new aldermen are sworn in

RAPID CITY, S.D. — The Rapid City Common Council has some fresh faces after newly elected members were sworn in Monday night, and a plan to increase affordable housing in Rapid City was approved.

Three new council members were sworn in during the council’s meeting: Bill Evans representing Ward Two, Lance Lehman for Ward Four and Gregory Strommen in Ward Three.

The new members are eager to get to work and do the best they can for Rapid City. Strommen said “It’s a pretty awesome responsibility, but I welcome it and I think it’s gonna be a challenge and a rewarding experience and I hope that I can do some good for Rapid City.”

After members were sworn in, a new council president and vice president were chosen. Laura Armstrong of Ward Five was elected council president with Chad Lewis from Ward Three chosen as vice president.

These positions will be held by Armstrong and Lewis for a year and will oversee committees and represent the council at various events.

But it wasn’t all welcomes and elections Monday night. With the election and swearing in of new members, the council also said farewell to those who passed on the torch.

“There are times when you disagree,” Steve Laurenti said to incoming alderman, “but remember that we are all brothers and sisters, and have different opinions, and remember to love each other and forgive each other.”

Jason Salamun had parting words for the city as he stepped down. “It’s been my honor to serve you. I’ll miss this, watch, I’ll try not to bother you too much. God bless Rapid City, God bless South Dakota, God bless America, and God bless each and every one of you.”

After members new and old met and congratulated one another, the common council got to work for the city. Last night the Shepherd Hills subdivision was given the green light, which will provide hundreds of affordable housing units. Apartments are expected to be available to rent by the fall.

Categories: Local News, Politics & Elections