Candidates file for Rapid City Council

City CouncilRAPID CITY, S.D. — On Tuesday, candidates emerged in each of Rapid City’s five city council wards prior to the 5 p.m. deadline, with the municipal election being scheduled for June 7.

The City of Rapid City says three current council members have turned in verified petitions for reelection including Bill Evans (Ward 2), Greg Strommen (Ward 3) and Lance Lehmann (Ward 4). Ward 1 council member Ron Weifenbach and Ward 5 council member Darla Drew are not seeking re-election to the city council.

In contested races, Lindsey Seachris will challenge Evans in Ward 2 and J.J. Carrell and Pat Roseland will face each other in Ward 5.

Candidates in the city’s other three wards will be seated without opposition. Jesse Ham is unopposed for the Ward 1 council position as is Strommen in Ward 3 and Lehmann in Ward 4. The uncontested races will not have a municipal election.

Candidates who have filed petitions for the June 7 municipal election include:

  • Ward 1: Jesse Ham
  • Ward 2: Bill Evans (incumbent), Lindsey Seachris
  • Ward 3: Greg Strommen (incumbent)
  • Ward 4: Lance Lehmann (incumbent)
  • Ward 5: J.J. Carrell, Pat Roseland

Candidates must file a Statement of Financial Interest within 15 days after filing their nominating petitions, and must also file a Statement of Organization for a Candidate Campaign Committee not later than 5 days after becoming a candidate.

All required forms must be filed with the City Finance Office. Candidates elected on June 7 will take office at the July 5 city council meeting.

The voter registration deadline is May 23, the same day early voting is scheduled to begin.

Categories: Local News, Politics & Elections