Regents committee begins search for next SDSM&T president


Dr. Heather Wilson has been president of the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology since 2013. In anticipation of her appointment as U.S. Air Force secretary, the South Dakota Board of Regents has created a search committee to find the next school president.

Wilson has not officially been confirmed by the Senate, but she was approved overwhelmingly by the Senate Armed Services Committee. DETAILS

“The input we receive from campus and community leaders is essential to the Board of Regents, as we select the next leader for this exceptional engineering and science university,” said Regent John Bastian, who will chair the search process.

Other regents on the search committee are Jim Morgan and Pam Roberts, with Regents President Bob Sutton serving in an ex-officio capacity.

Named as campus and community representatives and the constituencies they represent are:

-Community: Linda Rabe, president/CEO, Rapid City Area Chamber of Commerce
-SD Mines Foundation: Lorin Brass, Board of Trustees’ Executive Committee and past president of the Board of Trustees
-Alumni: Ron Jeitz, retired Texaco Inc. executive
-Administration: Pat Mahon, vice president for student development and dean of students
-Civil Service Employees: Cheryl Dillon, program assistant, Student Activities and Leadership Center
-Professional Staff: Heather Forney, controller and director of finance
-Faculty: Carter Kerk, professor of industrial engineering; Dan Dolan, professor of mechanical engineering; Rod Rice, professor of humanities and chair of Faculty Senate
-Students: Aaron Campbell, junior computer science and applied and computational mathematics double major; Ariana Lopez, junior chemical engineering major
-Institutional Collaboration: James Abbott,  president of the University of South Dakota

The Board of Regents is working with Zachary Smith and Sophie Stava of the executive search firm, Witt/Kieffer, to identify and review candidates. The search process gets underway this month. Contingent on a successful search, Bastian said the timeline calls for the new president of School of Mines to be appointed this fall and to begin duties on or around Jan. 1, 2018.

Information from the South Dakota Board of Regents

Today's Forecast